My first experiences with Sentinel-2A data

An interesting blog post on user experience with basic analysis of Sentinel-2A data using ESA’s SNAP open-source toolbox.

Earth Observation & Remote Sensing Research in Ireland

First, some pretty pictures

S2A_20151208T182059_RGB Dublin, Ireland on 8 December 2015

Operational ESA Sentinel-2A data recently became available for public download from the Sentinels Scientific Data Hub.  I managed after several attempts to download a 3.2 GB sized zip file containing data from Tuesday, 8 December 2015. After extracting the zip file, I opened the data using ESA SNAP 2.0 with the Sentinel-2 Toolbox. After selecting true colour bands at 10 meter resolution and some minor processing, I produced a lovely image of Dublin, Ireland and its surroundings- urban areas, farms, upland bogs, clouds at different altitudes as judged by the distance to their shadows, and suspended sediments and humic and tannic acids in the Irish Sea.

Drogheda_20151208 Drogheda, Ireland on 2015

In the image above of Drogheda, we can clearly see plumes of humic and tannic acids (dark brown in colour) emptying from the River Boyne into the Irish Sea, accompanied by suspended…

View original post 1,300 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About WQ

I received my PhD (2013) in Remote Sensing, Earth and Space Science at the Dept. of Aerospace Engineering Sciences, University of Colorado, Boulder, USA, under a Fulbright fellowship. Currently, I'm an Assistant Professor in the Dept. of Space Science at Institute of Space Technology (IST), Islamabad, Pakistan, where I have been a founding member of the Geospatial Research & Education Lab (GREL). My general expertise is in Remote Sensing where I have worked with various remote sensing datasets through my career, while for my PhD thesis I specifically worked on Remote Sensing using SAR (Synthetic Aperture Radar) and Oceanography, working extensively on development of techniques to measure ocean surface currents from space-borne SAR intensity images and interferometric data. My research interests are: Remote sensing, Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) imagery and interferometric data processing & analysis, Visible/Infrared/High-resolution satellite image processing & analysis, Oceanography, Earth system study and modelling, LIDAR data processing and analysis, Scientific programming. I am a reviewer for IEEE Transactions on Geoscience & Remote Sensing, Forest Ecosystems, GIScience & Remote Sensing, Journal of African Earth Sciences, and Italian Journal of Agronomy. I am an alumnus of Pakistan National Physics Talent Contest (NPTC), an alumnus of the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings, a Fulbright alumnus, and the Pakistan National Point of Contact for Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC). I was an invited speaker at the TEDxIslamabad event held in Nov., 2014. I've served as mentor in the NASA International Space App Challenge Islamabad events in April 2015 and April 2016.

Leave a Reply

