MODIStsp: R Package for Analysing MODIS Time Series Data

An R package for automating the processing and analysis of MODIS Land Products raster datasets has recently been released by Lorenzo Busetto and Luigi Ranghetti at the Institute for Electromagnetic Sensing of  Environment, National Research Council of Italy (IREA-CNR). This package, called MODIStsp, is available for download on GitHub. It provides a user-friendly GUI, batch processing utilities, and access to source code for user modification and customisation. MODIStsp has the capability of performing several preprocessing steps (e.g. download, mosaicing, reprojection and resize) on MODIS products, and on-the-fly computation of time series of Spectral Indexes

For more details and package release information, please visit Spatial Processing in R blog and see the paper published in Computers & Geosciences journal.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About WQ

I received my PhD in 2013 from the University of Colorado, Boulder, USA, from the Dept. of Aerospace Engineering Sciences, with specialization in Remote Sensing, Earth and Space Science, as a Fulbright fellow. Thereafter, I served for many years in the faculty of the Dept. of Space Science, Institute of Space Technology (IST), Islamabad, Pakistan, where I initiated the Radar Remote Sensing group, and was one of the founders of the Geospatial Research & Education Lab (GREL). I also spent a few months as a Visiting Researcher at Radar Remote Sensing Group, Division of Microwave & Optical Remote Sensing, Department of Space, Earth & Environment, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden. Since late 2021, I am the CTO at Offshore Monitoring Ltd. (http://www.offshoremonitoring.com), leading the complete technical team there. My core specialization makes me think of myself as an Earth Scientist or Remote Sensing Scientist, with specialized skills in EO / SAR remote sensing, satellite oceanography, scientific programming, and strategic management of technical teams with diverse skill sets. I am a reviewer for various international scientific journals and conferences. I am an alumnus of Pakistan National Physics Talent Contest (NPTC), an alumnus of the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings, and a Fulbright fellow. From 2013 – 2017, I have been the Pakistan National Point of Contact for Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC). I was an invited speaker at the TEDxIslamabad event held in Nov., 2014, and have also served as a mentor in the NASA International Space Apps Challenge Islamabad events in April 2015 and 2016. I was an invited panelist at the School of Tomorrow event in Karachi, held in Nov., 2018. In the past, I have also served regularly on interview panels for final selection of Fulbright MS and PhD candidates from Pakistan.

Leave a comment