What does “open-source software” actually mean?

The following MIT Technology Review article on the future of open source was a very interesting read for me yesterday. It explained many concepts I was not fully aware of, the history and parallel lines of open-source software development, and current and future challenges. One very interesting concept was the TTOSA (Time Till Open Source Alternative), representing the time between the release of a proprietary product and when an open-source equivalent becomes available.

Read the MIT Technology Review article here:

https://www.technologyreview.com/2023/08/17/1077498/future-open-source/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged on by .

About WQ

I received my PhD in 2013 from the University of Colorado, Boulder, USA, from the Dept. of Aerospace Engineering Sciences, with specialization in Remote Sensing, Earth and Space Science, as a Fulbright fellow. Thereafter, I served for many years in the faculty of the Dept. of Space Science, Institute of Space Technology (IST), Islamabad, Pakistan, where I initiated the Radar Remote Sensing group, and was one of the founders of the Geospatial Research & Education Lab (GREL). I also spent a few months as a Visiting Researcher at Radar Remote Sensing Group, Division of Microwave & Optical Remote Sensing, Department of Space, Earth & Environment, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden. Since late 2021, I am the CTO at Offshore Monitoring Ltd. (http://www.offshoremonitoring.com), leading the complete technical team there. My core specialization makes me think of myself as an Earth Scientist or Remote Sensing Scientist, with specialized skills in EO / SAR remote sensing, satellite oceanography, scientific programming, and strategic management of technical teams with diverse skill sets. I am a reviewer for various international scientific journals and conferences. I am an alumnus of Pakistan National Physics Talent Contest (NPTC), an alumnus of the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings, and a Fulbright fellow. From 2013 – 2017, I have been the Pakistan National Point of Contact for Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC). I was an invited speaker at the TEDxIslamabad event held in Nov., 2014, and have also served as a mentor in the NASA International Space Apps Challenge Islamabad events in April 2015 and 2016. I was an invited panelist at the School of Tomorrow event in Karachi, held in Nov., 2018. In the past, I have also served regularly on interview panels for final selection of Fulbright MS and PhD candidates from Pakistan.

Leave a comment